Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. "Katie" Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer Robert O. Williams

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal Collins Raye Felder William M. "Bill" Hixon Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Bill Taylor

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Executive Subcommittee of the Legislative Oversight Committee Tuesday, June 27, 2017 10:00 am Blatt Room 110

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. Subcommittee Chairman Gary E. Clary calls the Executive Subcommittee meeting to order on the morning of Tuesday, June 27, 2017, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. The following members of the Subcommittee are present during all or part of the meeting: Subcommittee Chairman Clary, Representative Funderburk, Representative Newton, and Representative Williams.

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.
- II. Representative Newton moves to approve the minutes from the June 13, 2017 Subcommittee meeting. A roll call vote is held, and the motion passes.

Rep. Newton's motion to approve the minutes from June 13, 2017:	Yea	Nay	Not Voting (Absent)	Not Voting (Present)
Rep. Clary	✓			
Rep. Funderburk	✓			
Rep. Newton	✓			
Rep. Williams	✓			

Discussion of the State Election Commission

- I. Chairman Clary explains the purpose of today's meeting is for the State Election Commission to present its recommendations for law changes and/or major internal changes that may improve efficiency and outcomes or update laws; to receive any constituent testimony about these, or any other, recommendations; and discuss additional potential recommendations and findings.
- II. Chairman Clary reminds agency personnel who were sworn in during prior meetings that they remain under oath anytime they are with the Subcommittee or Committee.
- III. Chairman Clary swears in the following individuals:
 - a. Ms. Lynn Teague, League of Women Voters of South Carolina and Resident of Richland County; and
 - b. Mr. Scott Slatton, Municipal Association of South Carolina and Resident of Richland County.
- IV. State Election Commission Director Marci Andino presents responses to follow up questions from the Subcommittee after the last Subcommittee meeting. She then discusses the agency's recommendations. Those recommendations fall into 3 categories:
 - a. internal changes;
 - b. legislative changes; and
 - c. potential subcommittee recommendations.

Subcommittee members ask questions, which Director Andino answers.

- V. Ms. Lynn Teague provides testimony.
- VI. Mr. Scott Slatton presents information regarding the Municipal Association's perspective on the State Elections Commission's recommendations.
 - Subcommittee members ask questions, which Mr. Slatton answers.
- VII. Ms. Kim Murphy (constituent) presents information regarding county boundaries and South Carolina Code of Law § 27-2-105. Prior to Ms. Murphy providing testimony, Subcommittee Chairman Clary reminds her that she was sworn in during a prior Subcommittee meeting and remains under oath.
 - Subcommittee members ask questions, which Ms. Murphy answers.
- VIII. Director Frank Rainwater, Executive Director of South Carolina Revenue and Fiscal Affairs, and Mr. Will Roberts, State Political Cartographer for South Carolina Revenue and Fiscal Affairs, present information on the issue of clarifying county lines. Prior to Director Rainwater and Mr. Roberts providing testimony, Subcommittee Chairman Clary reminds them that they were sworn in during a prior Subcommittee meeting and remain under oath.
 - Subcommittee members ask questions, which Director Rainwater and Mr. Roberts answer.
- IX. With no further business, the meeting is adjourned.